Whitford and Chilson Top Guns in 6Shooters

Story Image

Kevin Whitford and Trevor Chilson each picked up a feature win tonight in the Roto Rooter 6Shooters at Madison International Speedway.  The division also featured a seventeen car field which is the largest in its two year existence.

Whitford earned his first ever feature win at Madison by holding off both Chilson and Jim Ronspiez in the first fifteen lap event.  In the second feature, Chilson took the lead on lap 7 and was able to keep Chris Brugger, who was making his Ring of Fire debut, at bay on his way to victory lane.

Heat races were won by Mike Seidel and Chilson.

Both winners informed the crowd during post race interviews that they had less than $400 invested in their cars proving that the 6Shooters are a true entry-level, low budget division.

The race was part of the second annual Eve of Destruction that featured Monster Trucks, Vertical Mischief motorcycle stunts, Tough Truck Tug of War, Smoky Burnout Contest, Spectacular Drags, and a Roll Over Contest.  Additionally, the world famous Gary Oscarson drove his school bus through a camper and Thundercat completed the night with a spectacular fireworks program.

Two events remain on the 2016 schedule at Madison.  The final night of the One on One Street Drags is coming up on Thursday, September 15th with gates open at 6:00 and bracket racing beginning at 7:30.  On Saturday, September 24th the Midwest Stock Cars will be here for a 250 lap “enduro” race for eight cylinder cars.


15 Lap Feature One:1. Kevin Whitford (Stoughton, WI), 2. Trevor Chilson (Middleton , WI), 3. Jim Ronspiez (Sun Prairie, WI), 4. Chad Niday (Oregon, WI), 5. Tyler Spiegel (Oregon, WI), 6. Bob McKeown (McFarland, WI), 7. Mike Seidel (Brooklyn, WI), 8. Bradley Lounsbury (Beloit, WI), 9. Nick Krohn (Madison, WI), 10. Don Ledwidge (Oregon, WI), 11. Chris  Brugger (Oregon, WI), 12. Skyler Woerpel (New Glarus, WI), 13. Colin Fosdahl, 14. Ryan Paulsrud (Oregon, WI), 15. Kyle Hover, 16. Mike Bollinger (Stoughton, WI), 17. Gary Prins (Beloit, WI)- DNS

15 Lap Feature Two:1. Trevor Chilson (Middleton , WI), 2. Chris  Brugger (Oregon, WI), 3. Kevin Whitford (Stoughton, WI), 4. Jim Ronspiez (Sun Prairie, WI), 5. Bob McKeown (McFarland, WI), 6. Mike Seidel (Brooklyn, WI), 7. Skyler Woerpel (New Glarus, WI), 8. Chad Niday (Oregon, WI), 9. Kyle Hover, 10. Ryan Paulsrud (Oregon, WI), 11. Bradley Lounsbury (Beloit, WI), 12. Gary Prins (Beloit, WI), 13. Tyler Spiegel (Oregon, WI), 14. Don Ledwidge (Oregon, WI), 15. Colin Fosdahl, 16. Nick Krohn (Madison, WI), 17. Mike Bollinger (Stoughton, WI)- DNS

Heat 1:1. Mike Seidel (Brooklyn, WI), 2. Jim Ronspiez (Sun Prairie, WI), 3. Chad Niday (Oregon, WI), 4. Bradley Lounsbury (Beloit, WI), 5. Mike Bollinger (Stoughton, WI), 6. Nick Krohn (Madison, WI), 7. Don Ledwidge (Oregon, WI), 8. Chris  Brugger (Oregon, WI), 9. Ryan Paulsrud (Oregon, WI),

Heat 2:1. Trevor Chilson (Middleton , WI), 2. Kevin Whitford (Stoughton, WI), 3. Gary Prins (Beloit, WI), 4. Tyler Spiegel (Oregon, WI), 5. Bob McKeown (McFarland, WI), 6. Colin Fosdahl, 7. Skyler Woerpel (New Glarus, WI), 8. Kyle Hover,