Super Late Models, Mid Ams, and Fireworks Added at MIS

Officials from Madison International Speedway have announced that an additional date has been added to the 2012 racing schedule.

Mark your calendars for Friday, August 31st when MIS will host Round 3 of the Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge Series plus the Mid American Stock Car Series (MASCS).  The Triple Crown Challenge event will be known as the Tribute to Tom Reffner honoring the driver who won track championships at Madison in 1975 and 1979 and took home 58 feature wins.

In addition to the two racing divisions, ThunderCat will also be presenting their Fireworks Extravaganza.

“We had to postpone our fireworks program earlier in the year due to the dry weather,” said MIS Business / Marketing Manager Jason Tyler.  “We also postponed the Mid Am Series on that night so we are bringing them back too.”

Nathan Haseleu leads the point standings after two rounds of the Triple Crown Challenge fueled by winning three of the four features run so far.  Haseleu swept Round One in June and split wins with  Travis Sauter  on July 6th.  Sauter was declared the overall winner in July based on his combined finishes in the two features. Besides Haseleu,  Jeremy Miller, Bobby Wilberg, Rich Bickle, and Gary LaMonte round out the top five in the overall points.

The top twenty-four in points following Round 3 will have automatic starting positions in the Race of Champions on Sunday, September 23rd.

Tyler added, “It’s still a battle to see who can make the top 24 so anyone who comes to race on the 31st has a legitimate shot.  Drivers who don’t make the top 24 after August 31st can still be able to make the Race of Champions based on their finishes in preliminary events at the Fall Classic on the 23rd of September.”

Triple Crown Challenge Point Standings

1. (199)Nathan Haseleu (Pardeeville, WI), 2. (174)Jeremy Miller (Rockton, IL), 3. (153)Bobby Wilberg (Beloit, WI), 4. (153)Rich Bickle (Janesville, WI), 5. (129)Gary LaMonte (West Allis, WI), 6. (122)Frank Kreyer (Wisconsin Dells, WI), 7. (98)Travis Sauter (Prairie du Sac, WI), 8. (90)Kelsey Bauer (Random Lake, WI), 9. (84)Dave Feiler (Sun Prairie, WI), 10. (83)Andrew Morrissey (DeForest, WI), 11. (76)Dennis Prunty (Knowles, WI), 12. (74)Jeff Storm (East Troy, WI), 13. (67)Austin Luedtke (Adell, WI), 14. (61)Mike Held (West Bend, WI), 15. (60)Frank Nitzke (Berlin, WI), 16. (57)Derek Childs (Poynette, WI), 17. (54)Tanner Whitten (Carlock, IL), 18. (53)Mike Egan (Slinger, WI), 19. (50)Russ Blakely (Whitewater, WI), 20. (48)Blake Brown (Franksville, WI), 21. (47)Landry Potter (Genoa City, WI), 22. (44)Dale Nottestad (Cambridge, WI), 23. (39)Jeremy Schulz (Winthrop Harbor, IL), 24. (37)Kyle Brinkmann (Elkhorn, WI), 25. (35)Tim Lampman (Oak Creek, WI), 26. (33)Jordan Thiel (Appleton, WI), 27. (29)Don Wickstrum (Monroe, WI),