Sauter, Mondeik and Baker Latest to Enter $5,000 Lettow Classic This Friday at Madison

Story Image

Oregon, WI- Three more heavy hitters have filed entries for this Friday Night’s (August 27, 2021) $5,000 to Win Howie Lettow Classic 100 at Madison International Speedway. NASCAR Truck Champion Johnny Sauter, Wisconsin’s Winningest Driver Justin Mondeik and Chicagoland Champion Ricky Baker will join the ‘Stars and Cars’ as over thirty Super Late Models are entered including NASCAR Cup Playoff contender William Byron.

Sauter, the 2016 NASCAR Truck Champion is ranked sixth all-time with seven career Midwest Tour triumphs including last fall’s Joe Shear Classic. Fresh off a win two weeks ago at Dells Raceway Park, Friday night will mark Sauter’s first ARCA Midwest Tour start of 2021. After posting fourteen wins a season ago and track titles at both State Park Speedway and Golden Sands Speedway, Justin Mondeik will be in search of win number fourteen of 2021 when he takes to ‘Wisconsin’s Fastest Half Mile’. Another driver looking to make his first Midwest Tour start of 2021 is Ricky Baker. Baker won the Grundy County Speedway Track Championship in 2016 and again in 2017 where he is a two-time winner of the Bettenhausen Classic. Baker has two career Midwest Tour feature wins and has a pair of Grundy wins already this year.

The Midwest Truck Series and 602 Outlaw Late Models will join the racing program which will conclude with the Area’s Biggest and Best Fireworks Display. Here is a breakdown of the drivers entered for Friday night’s 100 lap Howie Lettow Classic:

About Howie Lettow: Howie Lettow passed away in 2010 at the age of 62 after battling cancer. He was a highly respected crew chief who led eight different drivers to rookie of the year honors in the American Speed Association. Best known of that group is seven-time NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson. Other drivers included Scott Hansen, Ken Lund, David Stremme, Ted Musgrave, Steve Holzhausen, Steve Carlson, and Ricky Johnson. Lettow won an ASA championship in 1996 as crew chief for Tony Raines.
He also won three straight championships from 2005-2007 in the ASA Late Model Challenge Series with Stephen Leicht, Kelly Bires, and Travis Dassow behind the wheel.

Schedule of Events for Howie Lettow Classic 100, Friday August 27, 2021:
1pm Pit Gate Opens
4pm Practice Begins
4pm Front Gates Open
6:05pm Qualifying Begins
7:30pm Racing Begins

Ticket Pricing:
Adults: $20 in advance, $25 on race day
Heroes/Seniors: $18 in advance, $22 on race day
Students (12-17) $15
Kids (6-11) $5
Children ages 5 and under Free
Family Price: Up to 2 adults and up to 4 youth (ages 17 and under) $50

Divisions: The ARCA Midwest Tour will be joined by the Midwest Truck Series and 602 Outlaw Late Models.

Location: Madison International Speedway is located at 1122 Sunrise Rd in Oregon, WI. For additional information visit or call 608-835-9700.

Past Winners Howie Lettow Classic
2019- Ty Majeski
2018- Rained Out
2017- Paul Shafer Jr.
2016  Rained Out
2015  Ty Majeski
2014  Erik Jones*
2013  Kyle Busch*
2012  Travis Sauter*

*Event held at The Milwaukee Mile

Expected Entries
Howie Lettow Classic
ARCA Midwest Tour
Friday August 27, 2021
Madison International Speedway

32 as of 8/26/21


Dale Nottestad Cambridge WI


Luke Fenhaus Wausau WI


Casey Johnson Edgerton WI


Johnny Sauter Necedah WI


John DeAngelis, Jr Hubertus WI


Paul Shafer, Jr Portage IN


Shaun Scheel Lake Mills WI


Andy Monday Appleton WI


Bobby Kendall Montello WI


Andrew Brocker Jefferson WI


Austin Nason Roscoe IL


Gabe Sommers Plover WI


Andrew Morrissey DeForest WI


Levon VanDerGeest Merrill WI


William Byron Charlotte NC


Jeff Storm East Troy WI


Dan Fredrickson Lakeville MN


Dennis Prunty Knowles WI


Justin Mondeik Gleason WI


Rich Bickle, Jr Edgerton WI


Ricky Baker Plainfield IL


Griffin McGrath Cedar Rapids IA


Jacob Goede Carver MN


Dillon Hammond Grand Marsh WI


Jonathan Eilen Hampton MN


Riley Stenjem Utica WI


Skylar Holzhausen Bangor WI


Ryan Farrell Big Bend WI


Brent Edmunds Monroe WI


Ty Majeski Seymour WI


Jacob Nottestad Cambridge WI


Dalton Zehr Daytona Beach FL