Racing and Booms this Friday Night at MIS

Story Image

It’s one of the most anticipated nights at Madison International Speedway this Friday as it’s time for the annual Salute to America Night featuring the area’s biggest and best aerial and ground fireworks display.

One name sums up the fireworks experience at Madison: ThunderCat. If you haven’t seen a ThunderCat fireworks display up close like you do at MIS then it’s time to join everyone on Friday night.

Of course, it’s not just about the booms over the track, but an outstanding racing program is in place too. The Big 8 Late Models presented by Gandrud Chevrolet will be here competing in a 48 lap feature event that will bring the best late model drivers from the region to Wisconsin’s Fastest Half-Mile. Caleb Adrian and Bobby Wilberg have won the first two Big 8 events this season at Hawkeye Downs and Rockford respectively. Drivers from four states are expected to be at Madison this Friday night.

Joining the Big 8 cars will be the Great Northern Sportsman Series and the four cylinder DASH Series. This will be the second race of the season for the GNSS with Dave Trute winning the opener at the Dells. The DASH Series is for Internationals, ASTs, Outlaw Bandits, and Bandits. Hoosier 790 or 800 tires, regionally accepted safety equipment for car and driver, and home track rules apply.

Come early…stay late. It’s the show of shows this Friday night at MIS. Practice begins at 5:00 with qualifying at 6:20, racing at 7:30 and fireworks to follow. Special event pricing applies to this Friday’s event.

Last Week in Review

Dale Nottestad notched his second win of the season last Friday night in the NASCAR Whelen All American Late Models. Visiting driver Jason Thoma took top honors in the Dave’s White Rock Sportsman while past champion Steve Dickson won the feature for the Pellitteri Waste Systems Bandits. Lucas Stevenson won the first-ever Roto Rooter 6Shooter feature.

The Late Model and Sportsman races were part of the first annual Badgerland Challenge, a three race series that heads to Slinger in July and Jefferson in August.

Complete results available at

New Leader in Late Model Points

Fueled by his feature win, Dale Nottestad is the new point leader in the Late Model division with a 438-433 lead over Jeremy Miller. Both drivers have won a pair of features in the four races so far in 2015. Zack Riddle (401), Bobby Wilberg (338), and Casey Johnson (333) round out the top five.

Hansberry Closes the Gap in Sportsman Points

It wasn’t a good night for Ryan Goldade on Friday who was forced to leave the feature early due to mechanical issues, but he still leads the way in the points race with a ten point advantage (530-520) over Robert Hansberry. Mike Taylor (416), Steve Anderson (357), and Matt Lundberg (355) complete the top five.

Snyder Leads the Bandits

Defending champion Dan Snyder continues to lead the points in the Bandits with 471 points followed by Nick Schmidt (410), Brandon DeLacy (403), David Schmidt (387), and Steve Dickson (383).

First Supply Dash Leaders

Zack Riddle (Late Models), Robert Hansberry (Sportsman), and Nick Schmidt (Bandits) are the current leaders in the Dash standings.

Complete standings available at

No Racing on July 3rd

There will be no racing on Friday, July 3rd

Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge Returns on July 10th

The Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge returns for Round Two on Friday, July 10th. The event will be presented by Bobcat of Janesville and once again will be a 50 lap feature. Ty Majeski won the first event in June and leads the point race with 116 followed by Paul Shafer Jr., Jeff Storm, Jeremy Miller, and Dave Feiler.

Dave’s White Rock Sportsman, Pellitteri Waste Systems Bandits, and Roto Rooter 6Shooters are also on the racing schedule.

Special event pricing applies for the Triple Crown Challenge event.

That’s all for now…check us out on Facebook and Twitter for the latest updates.