MIS Announces Weekly Racing Format for 2012

Weekly Racing Program Update from MIS

It won’t be long until the green flag waves on the weekly racing season at Madison International Speedway.  Wisconsin’s Fastest Half-Mile and the Ring of Fire will come alive on Sunday, May 27th for the weekly racing opener before going under the lights on Friday, June 1st where weekly racing will continue until August 17th.

 Three divisions will comprise the weekly racing program in 2012.  The Rockweiler Insulation Late Model and Sportsman divisions will battle it out on the half-mile while the Pellitteri Waste Systems Legends take to the quarter-mile.  The Super Late Models will return to the speedway in 2012 joining the weekly program on three nights during the season.

 The racing format will also see some changes in 2012. All divisions will get two laps of qualifying similar to previous years.  The qualifying times will determine placement in the odd / even qualifying races. 

 The top six qualifiers for the Late Models will participate in the six lap Morrison’s Auto Parts Fast Dash.  Separate point standings will be maintained for the dash series with the overall winner at the end of the season earning $750 with $500 for second place and $250 for third.  The starting order for the Dash will be determined by a dice roll.

 All cars will compete in odd / even qualifying races. Late model qualifying races will be 15 laps, Sportsman will be 8 laps, and Legends will be 12 laps.  A dice roll / invert will determine the starting order of the qualifying races.

 Feature laps in 2012 will see Late Models at 40 laps, Sportsman with 20 laps, and 25 laps for the Legends.  A dice roll / invert will determine the starting order for the features.

 Qualifying and feature points will remain the same as they were last year. A new point system will be in place for the qualifying races. The winners of each race will receive 25 points, 22 points for second place, 19 points for third, 16 points for fourth, 13 points for fifth, 10 points for sixth, 7 points for seventh, with the remainder of the field earning 5 points.

 Eleven points events will be on the schedule for 2012 with the season champions being crowned on Season Championship Night on August 17th.

 Champions from 2011 were Jeremy Miller (Late Models), Robert Hansberry Jr. (Sportsman), and Andy Jones (Legends).