Midwest Truck Series Returns to its Birthplace this Sunday

Story Image

Exciting “trucking” action returns to Madison this Sunday afternoon when the Midwest Truck Series returns to its birthplace joining the racing program with the ARCA Midwest Tour and Mid American Stock Car Series.


The trucks are back at the place where it all began with Jerry and Kevin Fillner in 1997.  The first races featured four or five truck fields, but something was evident right from the start:  The racing was going to be very competitive and exciting.  That first season saw Dave Grueneberg crowned the first track champion at Madison.


The series ran weekly at Madison from 1997-2005 with Dan Harris picking up two championships in 1998 and 2000 while Charlie Cottam (1999), John Grueneberg (2001), Todd Norder (2002), Josh Weir (2003),Scott Bleecker (2004), and Dann Barber (2005) also taking home championships.  The series also crowned track champions in 2013 (Jerry Wood) and 2014 (Blake Brown).


Forty different drivers have won feature races at Madison with Charlie Cottam leading the way with 35 checkered flags.  John Wood (18), Dan Harris (17), and Dave Grueneberg (12) are the only other drivers to claim more than ten victories. A total of 175 feature events have been raced at Madison over the past twenty years.


Last year the series raced at Madison three times with Chester Ace, Dave Edwards, and Dan Jung picking up the wins.  Edwards also won the series championship.


This Sunday a great field of “truckers” will be taking on Wisconsin’s Fastest Half-Mile battling it out in a thirty lap feature.   Leading the way is defending series champion Edwards who will be joined by a solid group of drivers including Mike Corvo, Nick Egan, Michael Bachaus, Kevin Knuese, Tommy Pecaro, Dan Jung, Jerry Wood, Rick Corso, Danielle Behn, Regan May, Tyler Schley, Ross Christiansen, and former Midwest Sportsman champion James Swan.  Four rookies, Gabe Sommers, Derek Doerr, Parker Retzlaff, and Rock Christiansen, are also entered.


The series will also return to Madison on June 2nd, July 28th, and August 18th.

Practice this Sunday begins at 11:30 AM with qualifying beginning at 12:45 and racing at 2:00.  For more information visit the track website at misracing.com.