Matt Kenseth Returns to MIS this Friday Night

Story Image

See the return of Matt Kenseth as he competes in the ARCA Midwest Tour Howie Lettow Classic 100 presented by Zimbrick Chevrolet this Friday night. Kenseth, the 1994 Madison champion, last raced here in 2014 when he picked up his 27th win at the track.

The ARCA Midwest Tour is making its second stop of the season at Madison after Bubba Pollard took home the win in the Joe Shear Classic back in May. Casey Johnson holds a four point lead (597-593) over Austin Nason in the race for the series championship. John DeAngelis Jr.(515), Carson Kvapil (504), and Gabe Sommers (501) complete the top five. Kvapil and Sommers are both rookies in the Midwest Tour.

A VIP Meet and Greet Party will take place allowing fans the opportunity to attend a Q&A session with the 2003 NASCAR Cup Champion, get up to two items autographed and have a professional picture taken with Kenseth. The VIP Experience will include a custom ticket good for the VIP area and general admission seating, water and soft drinks as well as the autograph and photo opportunities listed above. A limited number of VIP Experience Passes are available for advance purchase at for $108 each.

The race honors one of the great names in short track racing, Howie Lettow, who passed away in 2010 at the age of 62 following a battle with cancer.

Lettow was a highly respected crew chief who led eight different drivers to rookie of the year honors in the American Speed Association. Best known of that group is six-time NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson. Other drivers included Pat Schauer, Scott Hansen, Ken Lund, David Stremme, Ted Musgrave, Steve Holzhausen, Steve Carlson, and Ricky Johnson. Lettow won an ASA championship in 1996 as crew chief for Tony Raines.

He also won three straight championships from 2005-2007 in the ASA Late Model Challenge Series with Stephen Leicht, Kelly Bires, and Travis Dassow behind the wheel.

There is quite an impressive list of past winners of this event: Paul Shafer Jr. (2017) Ty Majeski (2015) Erik Jones (2014) Kyle Busch (2013), and Travis Sauter (2012). The 2016 and 2018 events were rained out. The 2012-2014 events were held at the Milwaukee Mile.

Also on track will be the third appearance of the year by the Midwest Truck Series along with the four cylinder Midwest Dash Series.

Adult general admission tickets for the Howie Lettow Classic are just $20, with Whelen Heroes and Senior tickets $18, students ages 12-17 are $15, ages 6-11 $5 with kids ages 5 and under admitted free. Take advantage of the MIS Family Ticket and get up to two adult admissions and up to four youth admissions ages 17 and under for $50. Spectator gates will open at 3:30pm, practice begins at 4pm with qualifying getting underway at 6:15pm.

Midwest Truck Series Rolls Into Madison

The Midwest Trucks are back this Friday night for their third visit of the season. The series began here back in 1997 and twenty-two years later and with over 180 features in the books, one thing is certain: It’s some of the best racing you’ll see on Wisconsin’s Fastest Half-Mile.

Jerry Brickner of Wausau, Wisconsin, won the season opener during the Joe Shear Classic back in May. Last month James Swan of Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, topped a Madison record field of twenty-nine trucks. Swan returns to Madison with two wins in a row after taking the checkered flag at State Park Speedway last week and is the current series point leader. Brickner, Levon Van Der Geest, John Ovadal Jr., and Kevin Knuese round out the top five in points.

Will James Swan make it three in a row? Will we see a first time winner at Madison? Stay tuned fans!

Don’t miss the Seminary Springs / The Fox / Nora’s Tavern 30 this Friday night.

5th Annual Badger Cup is Friday Night

Small Cars…Big Track

The four cylinder Midwest Dash Series will be taking on Wisconsin’s Fastest Half-Mile this Friday night in their only appearance here in 2019. Over twenty cars are expected to battle it out in the 25 lap feature.

Brandon DeLacy won last year’s event with Don Rufener III (2017) and Kyle Stark (2015, 2016) the previous winners. Stark set the track record for four cylinder cars back in July of 2016 with a lap of 21.405 (84.093 mph).

Buck Night is Back on August 23rd

It’s our second “Buck Night” of the season on Friday, August 23rd with all concessions just $1.00 and beer for $2.00. Bring your hunger, bring your thirst, and treat all of your friends to a night of fun at the track.

Racing action includes the NASCAR Late Models, Dave’s White Rock MISfitz, Pellitteri Waste Systems Bandits, and this season’s second visit from the Central States Region Super Cups. Bobby Wilberg (Late Models), Dave Edwards (MISfitz), and Nick Schmidt (Bandits) are the current point leaders with three feature events remaining on the 2019 schedule.

It’s also Autograph Night at the speedway so try to see if you can get an autograph from every driver…it’s been done before.

Adult admission is $14.00 / Whelen Heroes and Seniors $12.00 / Students 12-17 $8.00 / Kids 6-11 $5.00 / 5 and under free. A Family ticket is just $30.00.

Whelen Engineering Season Championship Night is August 30th

The NASCAR Whelen All American Series at Madison comes to a close on August 30th with double features in the Late Models, MISfitz, Bandits, and 6Shooters. See track champions crowned in the three NASCAR divisions as it all comes down to this one final night.

Twice the fun…twice the excitement as Late Model drivers from other NASCAR tracks in the region will be on hand to earn points towards state, regional, and possibly national championships.

Adult admission is $14.00 / Whelen Heroes and Seniors $12.00 / Students 12-17 $8.00 / Kids 6-11 $5.00 / 5 and under are free. A “Family” ticket is just $30.00.