Lynch Races to Midwest Truck Series Win at Madison

Story Image

James Lynch of Palos Park, Illinois, led wire to wire to pick up the win in the 36 lap main event for the Midwest Truck Series. It was his first ever truck win at Madison.

Jerry Mueller and Lynch led the twenty-nine truck field to the green flag. Lynch jumped to the lead after the first lap and opened up a three length advantage over Mueller. A stalled truck on the front stretch after lap three brought out the caution flag. Lynch and Mueller lined up in the front row for the double file restart and once again Lynch took the top spot with Chester Ace pulling to the inside of Mueller where the two raced side by side for second with a fast Aaron Moyer in fourth. On lap 7 Moyer pulled to the inside of Ace for third just before Mueller took his truck to the infield. A caution came out on lap 9 for an incident back in the pack in turn two thus negating Lynch’s 2.5 second advantage over the field.

Once again Lynch lined up on the inside for the restart with Ace on the outside followed by Moyer and Bryce Miller. Lynch continued his leading ways over Ace and Moyer with James Swan moving into fourth on lap 11 and Kevin Knuese joining the top five one lap later. At the half-way point Lynch had a solid eight length lead over Ace. While those in pursuit were hoping for a caution, Lynch was sailing away out front opening up a 2.54 second advantage over Ace who had his hands full with Moyer to hang on to second. On lap 29 Moyer powered his way past Ace for second with Swan passing Ace for third one lap later. This allowed Lynch to build his lead 3.25 seconds over Moyer.

Lynch was simply too strong for the field today as he cruised to victory lane with Moyer, Swan, Knuese, and Ace completing the top five.

James Swan set fast time in qualifying with a lap of 18.913 (95.173 mph). Rounding out the top five in group qualifying were Jay Foster (18.922), Bryce Miller (18.934), Jordan Thiel (18.940), and Kevin Knuese (18.976). Bobby Selsing Jr., Jeff Holtz, and Brandon Reichenberger won the eight lap heat races.

Unofficial Results

Feature: (1-10) James Lynch, Aaron Moyer, James Swan, Kevin Knuese, Chester Ace, Bryce Miller, Danielle Behn, Jordan Thiel, Jay Foster, Jeff Holtz
(11-20) Brandon Reichenberger, Kevin Zielezenski, Michael Haggar, Eugene Gregorich III, Derek Doerr, Cody Vanderloop, Rusty Hansen, Kevin Berg, Tyler Noble, Steve Henke
(21-29) Bobby Selsing Jr., Jesse Green, Tom Steinbach, Nick Quinnell, Keith Slagg, Jason Stark, Mike Reichenberger, Jerry Mueller, Nick Roehl

Qualifying: (1-10) James Swan, Jay Foster, Bryce Miller, Jordan Thiel, Kevin Knuese, Eugene Gregorich III, Aaron Moyer, Derek Doerr, Chester Ace, James Lynch
(11-20) Jerry Mueller, Russ Hansen, Danielle Behn, Weston Marthaler, Kevin Zielezenski, Michael Haggar, Jeff Holtz, Brandon Reichenberger, Tyler Noble, Nick Roehl
(21-30) Jason Stark, Mike Reichenberger, Kevin Berg, Cody Vanderloop, Parker Cain, Steve Henke, Jesse Green, Bobby Selsing Jr., Tom Steinbach, Nick Quinnell, Keith Slagg

Heat One: (1-11) Bobby Selsing Jr., Jason Stark, Kevin Berg, Mike Reichenberger, Tom Steinbach, Jesse Green, Steve Henke, Cody Vanderloop, Nick Quinnell, Keith Slagg, Parker Cain

Heat Two: (1-10) Jeff Holtz, Chester Ace, Danielle Behn, Kevin Zielezenski, Jerry Mueller, Aaron Moyer, Kevin Knuese, Tyler Noble, James Swan, Bryce Miller

Heat Three: (1-10) Brandon Reichenberger, Nick Roehl, James Lynch, Michael Haggar, Eugene Gregorich III, Derek Doerr, Russ Hansen, Jordan Thiel, Jay Foster, Weston Marthaler.