Key 2016 Madison Dates Announced

Story Image

A very exciting schedule is taking shape at Madison International Speedway for the 2016 racing season.

The season opener at Madison will be the eighth annual Joe Shear Classic on Sunday, May 1st featuring the ARCA Midwest Tour. Past winners of this event include Nathan Haseleu (2009), Steve Carlson (2010), Ross Kenseth (2011), Andrew Morrissey (2012) , Travis Sauter (2013). Nathan Haseleu (2014), and Johnny Sauter (2015).

The fifth annual Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge returns in 2016 with events scheduled for June 17, July 22, and August 19. The August race will be the return of the Howie Lettow Memorial. The rules package for the Challenge will remain the same as last year with Hoosier 3035 / 3045 tires. Previous overall winners of the Challenge include Nathan Haseleu (2012), Casey Johnson (2013), Chris Wimmer (2014), and Jeremy Miller (2015).

NASCAR Whelen All American Series weekly racing featuring Late Models, Sportsman, and Bandits returns on Friday nights beginning May 13th.

More details regarding the 2016 racing season at Madison will be coming soon so stay tuned for further updates.

Madison International Speedway is located two miles east of Oregon just south of Highway 138 on Sunrise Road. The track website is