Joe Shear Classic Returns to MIS Sunday May 3, $10,000 Top Prize

Story Image

Oregon, WI- A $10,000 payday awaits the winner of the Joe Shear Classic 200 at Madison International Speedway on Sunday afternoon May 3. Senoia, Georgia’s Bubba Pollard bested Rich Bickle to record his first ever tour victory in last year’s action packed Joe Shear Classic. The Stars and Cars of the ARCA Midwest Tour will battle for 200 laps in their season opening event on ‘Wisconsin’s Fastest Half Mile’ trying to best the 28 car feature field, which pays $1,000 to start.

After looking like he was out of contention early, Pollard roared to the front of the field at MIS last May and was able to hold off late race charges from former track Champion Rich Bickle and the 2018 Joe Shear Classic winner Austin Nason, placing his familiar #26 ride in victory lane. One year prior, Pollard had fallen victim to mechanical woes while leading the marquee Super Late Model event. Following Bickle, who recovered from early race damage and Nason who was involved in a mishap himself while battling for the lead, was eventual 2019 Midwest Tour Champ Casey Johnson and former Dixieland 250 winner Nick Murgic. The 2019 Joe Shear Classic once again saw two and three wide racing throughout the field with multiple pit strategies playing out during the 100 mile event.

Spectator gates will open Sunday May 3 at 11:30am, racing begins at 2pm and will also feature a post qualifying fan autograph session in the Turn 4 Party Pavilion. Adult general admission tickets are $25, Whelen Heroes, Seniors and Students (ages 12-17) $22, Kids (6-11) $10 with Children (5 & under) Free. Family Pricing is also available for $60 which includes up to two adult tickets and up to four admissions for those ages 17 and under. For additional information visit or call 608-835-9700.

Past Winners of Joe Shear Classic at Madison International

2008 Dan Fredrickson

2009 Nathan Haseleu

2010 Steve Carlson

2011 Ross Kenseth

2012 Andrew Morrissey

2013 Travis Sauter

2014 Nathan Haseleu

2015 Johnny Sauter

2016 Ty Majeski

2017 Andrew Morrissey

2018 Austin Nason

2019 Bubba Pollard