Joe Shear Classic 200 Now $10,000 To Win at Madison International Speedway

Story Image

Oregon, WI- The Stars and Cars of the ARCA Midwest Tour will now be chasing a $10,000 top price when their season begins on Sunday afternoon May 6 at Madison International Speedway for the annual Joe Shear Classic presented by SCAG Power Equipment. For the first time ever, the 200 lap contest will reward the winning driver $10,000 for their efforts and will pay $1,000 to start the 28 car feature event.

Last season Andrew Morrissey clawed his way to the top of the field in a remarkable 200 lap contest. Morrissey passed Travis Sauter with 16 laps to go in a race that had 10 lead changes amongst seven drivers. Former MIS Champions Sauter, Rich Bickle, Jr and 2017 Super Late Model Triple Crown Champion Dan Fredrickson all swapped the lead in the closing stages in a race that looked to be four time Midwest Tour Champion Ty Majeski’s race to win. Fredrickson mounted a late race charge to finish second, followed by Majeski who passed eight cars in the final twenty laps to claim the final podium position.

“The 200 lap format played out great last season. The Joe Shear Classic has been a marquee event for us. All indications are that it will play out again great in 2018, honoring one of the great drivers I grew up watching win around the Midwest.” Added Gregg McKarns, whom along with his wife Angie own and operate Madison International. Joining the ARCAMT Super Late Models will be the Mid-American Stock Car Series and the Midwest Trucks Series.

Spectator gates will open Sunday May 6 at 11:30am, racing begins at 2pm and will also feature a post qualifying fan autograph session in the Turn 4 Party Pavilion. Adult general admission tickets are $25, Whelen Heroes, Seniors and Students (ages 12-17) $22, Kids (6-11) $10 with Children (5 & under) Free. Family Pricing is also available for $60 which includes up to two adult tickets and up to four admissions for those ages 17 and under. For additional information visit or call 608-835-9700.

Past Winners of Joe Shear Classic at Madison International
2008 Dan Fredrickson
2009 Nathan Haseleu
2010 Steve Carlson
2011 Ross Kenseth
2012 Andrew Morrissey
2013 Travis Sauter
2014 Nathan Haseleu
2015 Johnny Sauter
2016 Ty Majeski
2017 Andrew Morrissey