James Swan Takes Home Two Checkered Flags at Madison

Story Image

Photos Courtesy Jess Reidner / Website

James Swan pulled double duty today at Madison International Speedway in the Midwest Truck Series and the Mid American Stock Car Series and when the afternoon was over left with a pair of wins.

Swan Flies to Truck Series Victory

James Swan led wire to wire to pick up the 30 lap feature for the Midwest Truck Series.

The twenty-one truck field was paced to the green flag by Danielle Behn and Swan. Swan quickly grabbed the top spot with Jeff Holtz and Rick Corso joining him. On lap 4 Kevin Knuese pulled to the inside of Corso racing for the third position with Carson Kvapil up to fifth.

Out front Swan and Holtz had built up a sixth truck length advantage over Corso and the rest of the field with ten laps completed. Swan was able to increase his lead over Holtz to three truck lengths at the half-way mark. On lap 17 Knuese moved past Corso for third. Three laps later the first caution flag of the race came out when Reagan May spun coming out of turn two.

Swan maintained on the restart with Holtz applying heavy pressure with Knuese close behind in third. Two laps later the caution flag waved again when the truck of Brad Gajewski went around coming out of turn two.

After the green flag waved again, Swan continued to show the way with Holtz and Knuese still running second and third, but neither driver would be able to catch the speedy Swan who took home the green flag. Rounding out the top five were Rick Corso and Carson Kvapil. Fast qualifier Todd Kluever finished in sixth followed by Luke Fenhaus, Mike Corvo, Tommy Pecaro, and Chester Ace.

“This was anything but easy with all the great competition out here today,” said Swan from victory lane.

Todd Kluever was fast qualifier for the Midwest Trucks with a lap of 18.962 (94.927 mph). Heat races were won by Parker Retzlaff, Kyle Chwala, and Levon Van Der Geest.

Two for Two for Swan

Fresh after picking up the win in the Midwest Truck Series, James Swan jumped in his Mid-American car and raced his way to victory lane.

Andrew Meyerhofer and Cody Clubb led the field of ten cars to the green flag in their 30 lap feature. Clubb quickly stepped away from Meyerhofer to take the lead. On lap 3 Bobby Gutknecht powered his way past Meyerhofer for second with Lyle Nowak moving into third on the fifth lap.

Ron Vandemeier Jr. moved up into third on lap 10 and three laps later worked his way past Gutknecht for second with James Swan moving into third on the next lap. By the half-way mark It appeared that Clubb was going to check away from the field but Vandemeier Jr. and Swan weren’t going to let that happen.

By lap 20 the gap was down to a single car length. On lap 21 Vandemeier Jr. raced past Clubb for the lead with Swan right behind him. On lap 24 Swan moved into second and two laps later got past Vandemeier Jr. for the lead and cruised his way to victory lane. Vandemeier Jr. finished in second with Clubb taking home third place.

“This car was awesome today with a lot of forward grip,” said Swan. “I learned a few things from the truck race and made it work in this race.”

Fast qualifier for the MASCS was Rick Corso who turned a lap of 19.614. Heat winners were James Swan and Cody Clubb.


Midwest Truck Series

30 Lap Feature: (1-10) James Swan, Jeff Holtz, Kevin Knuese, Rick Corso, Carson Kvapil, Todd Kluever, Luke Fenhaus, Mike Corvo, Tommy Pecaro, Chester Ace
(11-21) Danielle Behn, Levon Van Der Geest, Parker Retzlaff, Jerry Wood, Kyle Chwala, Danny Darnell, Kyle Lockington, Mark Hartline, Brad Gajewski, Dan Calhoun, Reagan May

8 Lap Heat #1: (1-7) Parker Retzlaff, Dan Calhoun, Danny Darnell, Mark Hartline, Jerry Wood, Brad Gajewski, Kyle Lockington

8 Lap Heat #2: (1-7) Kyle Chwala, Tommy Pecaro, James Swan, Reagan May, Chester Ace, Danielle Behn, Dave Edwards

8 Lap Heat #3: (1-8) Levon Van Der Geest, Jeff Holtz, Rick Corso, Luke Fenhaus, Kevin Knuese, Todd Kluever, Mike Corvo, Carson Kvapil

Qualifying: (1-10) Todd Kluever, Carson Kvapil, Mike Corvo, Kevin Knuese, Luke Fenhaus, Rick Corso, Levon Van Der Geest, Jeff Holtz, Chester Ace, James Swan

(11-20) Dave Edwards, Danielle Behn, Tommy Pecaro, Kyle Chwala, Reagan May, Jerry Wood, Danny Darnell, Mark Hartline, Brad Gajewski, Dan Calhoun

(21-22) Parker Retzlaff, Kyle Lockington

Mid American Stock Car Series

30 Lap Feature: (1-10) James Swan, Ron Vandemeier Jr., Cody Clubb, Bill Prietzel, Kenny Joosten, Bobby Gutknecht, Lyle Nowak, Rick Corso, Andrew Meyerhofer, Landry Potter, Mark Brooner (DNS).

8 Lap Heat #1: James Swan, Bill Prietzel, Ron Vandemeier Jr., Lyle Nowak, Rick Corso

8 Lap Heat: #2: Cody Clubb, Bobby Gutknecht, Andrew Meyerhoferr, Kenny Joosten, Landry Potter, Mark Brooner (DNS)

Qualifying: (1-11) Rick Corso, Bill Prietzel, Ron Vandemier Jr., James Swan, Lyle Nowak, Kenny Joosten, Bobby Gutknecht, Andrew Meyerhofer, Cody Clubb, Landry Potter, Mark Brooner

Next up at Madison International Speedway will be the One on One Street Drags on Thursday, May 10th. The gates open at 6:00, practice and grudge matches at 6:30 with bracket racing beginning at 7:30.

The NASCAR Weekly All American Season Opener is Friday, May 18thwith NASCAR Late Models, Dave’s White Rock Sportsman, Pellitteri Waste Systems Bandits, and the Northern Outlaw Vintage Series in action. Qualifying is set for 6:15 with racing at 7:30.

For more information checkout our website at misracing.com.