It’s a Big Night at MIS Tonight

Racing and Fireworks Tonight at MIS

Come one…come all to Madison International Speedway tonight for action on and over Wisconsin’s Fastest Half-Mile.

ThunderCat will light up the skies over the Town of Rutland tonight with the annual “Fireworks Extravaganza.” “This is going to be an awesome show that you don’t want to miss,” said MIS Business / Marketing Manager Jason Tyler.

But before the sights and sounds of the fireworks take place, there will be something excellent racing taking place on the track with Round 3 of the Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge and the Mid American Stock Car Series in action all part of Tribute to Tom Reffner Night at MIS.

Overall winners from the first two events, Nathan Haseleu and Travis Sauter, will have their hands full with a talented field of drivers from throughout the Midwest in the Triple Crown Challenge.  Tonight’s event will include a pair of 50 lap features. Never short of excitement at MIS, the Mid American Stock Car Series will feature great side by side racing with great drivers battling it out for top honors.

Pit gates for tonight’s event open at 3:30 with practice set for 4:45, qualifying at 6:15 and racing to follow. Tom Reffner, a two-time track champion and winner of almost sixty races at MIS, will be honored during pre-race ceremonies.

Racing Schedule

Mid American Stock Car Series Heat Races (8 Laps)

Super Late Model Feature #1 (50 Laps)

Mid American Stock Car Series Feature (40 Laps)

Super Late Model Feature #2 (50 Laps)


Fans arriving early can enjoy drink specials during our “Happy Hour” from 5:00 – 6:30.

The top 24 in points following Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge Round 3 will automatically be in the starting lineup for the Race of Champions on Sunday, September 23rd.

Current Standings

1. (199)Nathan Haseleu (Pardeeville, WI)
2. (174)Jeremy Miller (Rockton, IL)
3. (153)Bobby Wilberg (Beloit, WI)
4. (153)Rich Bickle (Janesville, WI)
5. (129)Gary LaMonte (West Allis, WI)
6. (122)Frank Kreyer (Wisconsin Dells, WI)
7. (98)Travis Sauter (Prairie du Sac, WI)
8. (90)Kelsey Bauer (Random Lake, WI)
9. (84)Dave Feiler (Sun Prairie, WI)
10. (83)Andrew Morrissey (DeForest, WI)
11. (76)Dennis Prunty (Knowles, WI)
12. (74)Jeff Storm (East Troy, WI)
13. (67)Austin Luedtke (Adell, WI)
14. (61)Mike Held (West Bend, WI)
15. (60)Frank Nitzke (Berlin, WI)
16. (57)Derek Childs (Poynette, WI)
17. (54)Tanner Whitten (Carlock, IL)
18. (53)Mike Egan (Slinger, WI)
19. (50)Russ Blakely (Whitewater, WI)
20. (48)Blake Brown (Franksville, WI)
21. (47)Landry Potter (Genoa City, WI)
22. (44)Dale Nottestad (Cambridge, WI)
23. (39)Jeremy Schulz (Winthrop Harbor, IL)
24. (37)Kyle Brinkmann (Elkhorn, WI)
25. (35)Tim Lampman (Oak Creek, WI)
26. (33)Jordan Thiel (Appleton, WI)
27. (29)Don Wickstrum (Monroe, WI),