Howie Lettow Memorial Comes to Madison this Friday Night

Story Image

It’s the final round of the Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge at Madison International Speedway this Friday night. Drivers from five states will be taking on Wisconsin’s Fastest Half-Mile competing in the Howie Lettow Memorial 50. The race will be part of the American Ethanol Salute to Agriculture Night at MIS.

Ty Majeski and Casey Johnson have won the first two legs of the “Challenge”, but it’s Jeremy Miller who leads the Triple Crown Challenge points going into the final round. Miller has 204 points followed by Paul Shafer Jr.(195), Jeff Storm (172), Dave Feiler (165), and Dale Nottestad (148).

Miller is no stranger to Madison as he’s won several late model track championships and competes in the weekly NASCAR Whelen All American Late Model division this season. Paul Shafer Jr. of Portage, Indiana, has been impressive each time he has raced at Madison and a win here would be amongst his biggest victories. Add in veterans like Storm, Feiler, Nottestad, Bobby Wilberg and others and everything is in place for a classic super late model event.

But what makes this race even more exciting is it’s a 50 lap shootout. Qualifying and starting positions will be extremely important when this talented field gets together for an epic fifty lap battle on the half-mile at Madison.

“It’s not a lot of laps so you need to be ready to go from the start and go all out the entire race,” said point leader Jeremy Miller. “It’s going to be a lot of fun, and I’m looking forward to it. The competition is going to be very tough.”

Track officials are excited to be hosting this event for the first time after it was previously held at the Milwaukee Mile. Past winners of the Howie Lettow Memorial include Erik Jones (2014), Kyle Busch (2013), and Travis Sauter (2012). Lettow, who passed away in 2010, was a very successful crew chief in the ASA and ASA Late Model Series and worked with many talented drivers including Jimmie Johnson.

Pit gates open at 3:30 on Friday with practice at 5:00, qualifying at 6:20, and racing at 7:30. The American Ethanol Super Trucks, Pellitteri Waste Systems Bandits, and RotoRooter 6Shooters will also be in action.

Howie Lettow Memorial 50
Title Round of Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge
Friday Night August 21, 2015
Madison International Speedway

Car # Name
2 Chuck Garetson
2 Dale Nottestad
5 Casey Johnson
5 Jeremy Miller
7 Paul Shafer, Jr
9 Derek Kraus
11 Bobby Kendall
15 Dean LaPointe
19 Dan Lensing
25 Jeff Storm
26 Jake Finney
28 Bobby Wilberg
28 David Finney
29 Caleb Adrian
34 Brandon Hill
35 Travis Dassow
45 Rich Bickle
61 Steve Rubeck
71 Mark Eswein
75 Joel Thiesen
87 Jay Foster
89 Ryan Farrell
91 Ty Majeski
93 Dave Feiler
O1 Paige Decker