Howie Lettow Classic to Decide Super Late Model Crown

Story Image

The Super Late Models are back in action on Wisconsin’s Fastest Half-Mile as part of the 5th annual Howie Lettow Classic presented by Klement’s. The world famous Klement’s Racing Sausages will also be making their first-ever appearance at MIS.

The final race of the Triple Crown Challenge will take place on Friday, August 19th. This is the second year the event has been held here after the first three events took place at the Milwaukee Mile.

All Super Late Model teams are invited to this race honoring one of the great names in short track racing who passed away in 2010 at the age of 62 following a battle with cancer.

Lettow was a highly respected crew chief who led eight different drivers to rookie of the year honors in the American Speed Association. Best known of that group is six-time NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson. Other drivers included Pat Schauer, Scott Hansen, Ken Lund, David Stremme, Ted Musgrave, Steve Holzhausen, Steve Carlson, and Ricky Johnson. Lettow won an ASA championship in 1996 as crew chief for Tony Raines.

He also won three straight championships from 2005-2007 in the ASA Late Model Challenge Series with Stephen Leicht, Kelly Bires, and Travis Dassow behind the wheel.

There is a quite an impressive list of past winners of this event. Ty Majeski of Seymour, Wisconsin, won last year’s race and joined previous winners that include Erik Jones (2014), Kyle Busch (2013), and Travis Sauter (2012). The first three events were held at the Milwaukee Mile.

The Lettow Classic is the third round of the Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge at Madison. Majeski and Jeremy Miller of Rockford, Illinois, picked up the checkered flags in the first two rounds of the Triple Crown Challenge held in June and July.

After two races, Casey Johnson of Edgerton, Wisconsin, leads the point standings with 213 followed by Miller (204), Austin Nason of Roscoe, Illinois (202), Paul Shafer Jr. of Portage, Indiana (185) and Jeff Storm of East Troy, Wisconsin (169). The race is open to all super late model teams whether they have competed in earlier Triple Crown events this season or not.

Miller is the defending Triple Crown Challenge champion with Chris Wimmer (2014), Johnson (2013), and Nathan Haseleu (2012) also winners.

Pit gates will open at 3:30 with practice at 5:00, grandstands open at 6:00, qualifying at 6:15, and racing at 7:30. The Midwest Trucks, Legends, and 6Shooters will also be in action.