Howie Lettow Classic this Friday at Madison

Story Image

Printable Entry List (PDF)

Triple Crown Challenge Title to be Decided

The Super Late Models are back in action on Wisconsin’s Fastest Half-Mile as part of the annual Howie Lettow Classic this Friday night. The Midwest Truck Series, Central States Region Super Cups, and Roto Rooter 6Shooters will also be in action.

The race will be the Championship Round of the Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge featuring drivers from throughout the Midwest. This is the fourth year the event will be held here after the first three events took place at the Milwaukee Mile. Paul Shafer Jr. won last year’s race.

All Super Late Model teams are invited to this race honoring one of the great names in short track racing who passed away in 2010 at the age of 62 following a battle with cancer.

Lettow was a highly respected crew chief who led eight different drivers to rookie of the year honors in the American Speed Association. Best known of that group is six-time NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson. Other drivers included Pat Schauer, Scott Hansen, Ken Lund, David Stremme, Ted Musgrave, Steve Holzhausen, Steve Carlson, and Ricky Johnson. Lettow won an ASA championship in 1996 as crew chief for Tony Raines.

He also won three straight championships from 2005-2007 in the ASA Late Model Challenge Series with Stephen Leicht, Kelly Bires, and Travis Dassow behind the wheel. Dassow is entered in this year’s race.

There is quite an impressive list of past winners of this event. Besides Paul Shafer Jr., Ty Majeski of Seymour, Wisconsin, won the 2015 race while Erik Jones (2014), Kyle Busch (2013), and Travis Sauter (2012) also took home checkered flags. The 2016 race was rained out. The first three events were held at the Milwaukee Mile.

The “Howie 50” is the third round of the Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge at Madison. Overall point standings are maintained with qualifying, heat race, and feature points all calculating into the total.

ARCA Midwest Tour point leader Austin Nason currently leads the way for the Triple Crown Challenge title but by only 3 points over Casey Johnson (209-206). Jason Weinkauf (177), Chris Weinkauf (171) and Rich Bickle Jr. (144) complete the top 5. Johnny Sauter and Ty Majeski picked up the wins in the first two races. Nason won the Joe Shear Classic for the Midwest Tour at Madison back in May. Nason, Johnson, Jason and Chris Weinkauf, and Bickle Jr. will all be here on Friday night.

Twenty-three drivers have already entered including Carson Kvapil, son of former Madison champion Travis Kvapil, who will be making his Madison Super Late Model debut.

Past champions of the Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge at Madison are Dan Fredrickson (2017), Casey Johnson (2016), Jeremy Miller (2015), Chris Wimmer (2014), Johnson (2013), and Nathan Haseleu (2012).

The Midwest Truck Series has completed over 180 feature races at Madison since 1997 and another solid field is expected for their fourth visit of the season. James Swan, Todd Kluever, and Chester Ace already have wins to their credit this year. The Midwest Trucks are known for very competitive and exciting racing at Madison with two and three wide action guaranteed.

The Central States Super Cups are back for their second visit with Jamie Domski getting the win earlier this season while the 6Shooters are back on the Ring of Fire for their fourth race with Sean Worman, Jim Ronspiez, and Steve Buna credited with wins.

If you haven’t seen the 6Shooters in action this year you won’t be disappointed as this true entry level division is both entertaining and a little unpredicatable. For as little as $600 you can be ready to race.

Pit gates open at 3:30 with practice at 5:00, qualifying at 6:15, and racing at 7:30.

Grandstands open at 6:00 PM with Adults $18.00 / Seniors and Whelen Heroes $16.00 / Students 12-17 $10.00 / Children 6-11 $5.00 / Kids Five and under Free. The very popular Family Ticket that includes two adults and up to four students / children is just $40.00.

The BEST is still to come this season…

August 31st: The Madtown Meltdown Speed Trials for open wheel and fendered racing vehicles is back this year with $1000 up for grabs for the driver who can establish a new track record on the half-mile. It’s double feature time again for the NASCAR Late Models, Dave’s White Rock Sportsman, and Pellitteri Waste Systems Bandits. The Hobby Stocks will join us for the second time as they battle it out in twin features on the Ring of Fire.

September 7th: Whelen Engineering NASCAR Championship Night brings the season to a close with double features for the NASCAR Late Models, Dave’s White Rock Sportsman, and Pellitteri Waste Systems Bandits plus the Upper Midwest Vintage Series will be here. Topping off the night of racing action will be a fireworks program.

September 13th: It’s the final edition of the One on One Street Drags and Shine ‘n’ Show Contest at Madison.

Expected Entries
Super Late Model Triple Crown
Championship Round
The Howie Lettow Classic
Friday August 24, 2018
Madison International Speedway, Oregon, WI

23 as of 08/20/18

# Name Hometown State
5 Jeff Holmgren, Jr East Troy WI
5 John Beale Verona WI
11 Bobby Kendall Montello WI
14 Austin Nason Roscoe IL
15 Dean LaPointe Marshfield WI
15 Gabe Sommers Plover WI
18 Brian Beale Verona WI
33 Trevor Vandermolen Oshkosh WI
35 Travis Dassow West Bend WI
35 Carson Kvapil Mooresville NC
36 Dan Fredrickson Lakeville MN
42 Dennis Prunty Knowles WI
43 Matt Kocourek Franklin WI
45 Rich Bickle, Jr Edgerton WI
47 Casey Johnson Edgerton WI
48 Brad Keith Slinger WI
53 Jake Carpenter Ashwaubenon WI
66 Adam Peschek Oconomowoc WI
75 Chris Weinkauf Merrill WI
76 Jason Weinkauf Merrill WI
87 Jamie Wallace Genoa City WI
87 Jay Foster Genoa IL
88 Rick Corso McHenry IL