Early Entries for $10,000 to Win Joe Shear Classic 200 Continue to Impress

Story Image

Oregon, WI- Entries have begun arriving at the ARCA Midwest Tour office for the upcoming Joe Shear Classic 200 presented by SCAG Power Equipment on Sunday afternoon May 6 at Madison International Speedway. Below is a look at the first six entries received, a good crop of drivers that all have found success in Tour competiton.

Spectator gates will open Sunday May 6 at 11:30am, racing begins at 2pm and will also feature a post qualifying fan autograph session in the Turn 4 Party Pavilion. Adult general admission tickets are $25, Whelen Heroes, Seniors and Students (ages 12-17) $22, Kids (6-11) $10 with Children (5 & under) Free. Family Pricing is also available for $60 which includes up to two adult tickets and up to four admissions for those ages 17 and under. For additional information visit www.misracing.com or call 608-835-9700.

39 Andrew Morrissey, DeForest, WI Club LaMark/B&B Enginess Ford: The winner of last year’s Joe Shear Classic, Morrissey put his name into the record books of this event for the second time, he had previously won in 2012. Morrissey passed Travis Sauter with just 16 laps remaining to claim the checkered flag. The 2011 Midwest Tour Champion was one of seven drivers who exchanged the lead ten times during the 200 lap contest.

14 Austin Nason, Roscoe, IL Haase Builders/Erickson Auto Parts Ford: A new Dad over the off-season, the former Rockford Speedway and Big 8 Series standout is looking for his break through season. Nason contended early in last year’s Joe Shear Classic before being relegated to a tenth place finish at Madison, a track where he has recorded a Super Late Model win and multiple fast qualifying awards. The 2015 Midwest Tour Rookie of the Year has been a threat to win at most Tour races in the past year and a half.

8 Billy Mohn, New Market, MN Airgas/Print Lab Wraps Chevrolet: Virtually unknown to most fans in the Badger state, Mohn has strung together a couple impressive back to back ARCA Midwest Tour finishes at his home track of Elko Speedway in Minnesota. He bested an impressive seventh place showing during the 2016 Thunderstruck with a fourth place effort last season, which made many Touring Stars take notice of the #8 car. Mohn plans on starting the Midwest Tour season and seeing what develops.

5 Casey Johnson, Edgerton, WI Hougan Farms/Region 4 UAW Chevrolet: A racer’s racer, Casey Johnson just likes to race, and he has found quite the success in the process. A two time MIS Triple Crown Champion (2013, 2016), Johnson has recorded 4 Late Model wins at Oregon, but has yet to add his name to Joe Shear Classic winners. He won his first Midwest Tour event last August, the Dixieland 250 and the 2015 Jefferson Speedway Champion looks to add another this May.

42 Dennis Prunty, Knowles, WI Anderson’s Pure Maple Syrup Chevrolet: Prunty has had a love/hate relationship with ‘Wisconsin’s Fastest Half Mile’. The 2015 Slinger Nationals and 2016 Dixieland 250 victor found himself on the Joe Shear Classic podium following a third place effort in 2016. Many feel the former Slinger Champion will buck the bad luck he has had at MIS as of late and contend for the win on May 6th.

5 John Beale, Verona, WI Evenson Farms/Pathfinder Chassis Chevrolet: Beale led early in last year’s Joe Shear Classic, clawing his way back to an eighth place finish. Success has been a common practice for Beale on the high banks of Madison. A career first Late Model win catapulted him to the 2015 NASCAR Rookie of the Year honors at MIS, he followed that performance with a division leading three wins in 2016. Teamed with veteran Casey Johnson, Beale is seeking the Midwest Tour Rookie honors in 2018, a feat he accomplished during the 2014 Midwest Truck campaign as well as during weekly competition at MIS.

Past Winners of Joe Shear Classic at Madison International

2008 Dan Fredrickson

2009 Nathan Haseleu

2010 Steve Carlson

2011 Ross Kenseth

2012 Andrew Morrissey

2013 Travis Sauter

2014 Nathan Haseleu

2015 Johnny Sauter

2016 Ty Majeski

2017 Andrew Morrissey