Dave Edwards Back in Victory Lane at Madison

Story Image

Henze, Storkson, and Hawkins Also Winners

Dave Edwards (Modifieds), Cohen Henze (Bandoleros), Kenny Storkson (Legends), and Elliott Hawkins (HSRA) all took checkered flags at Madison International Speedway tonight.

Dave Edwards Tops the Modifieds

Former MISfitz champion Dave Edwards won the 25 lap feature for the Modifieds who returned to the half-mile after a fifteen year absence.

Brett Wachowiacz and Justin Okrulicha paced the field to the green flag. Okrulicha took the early lead with Dave Edwards up to challenge Wachowiacz for second on lap 2. Edwards took the second spot on lap 3 with Bill Prietzel moving up to third. On lap 9 both Edwards and Prietzel were up to challenge Okrulicha for the lead. With ten laps to go Edwards worked to the inside of Okrulicha coming out of turn two but was not able to get by on the inside.

On lap 17 Edwards made contact with Okrulicha and was able to take the lead with Prietzel moving up to second. Edwards was able to maintain a two car length lead over Prietzel and with two laps to go increased the advantage to five lengths and kept the lead the rest of the way to pick up the checkered flag.

“What a blast. This car is so fun to drive. Prietzel gave us a run for the money,” said Edwards in a post-race interview.

Edwards set fast time with a lap of 19.114 (94.172 mph). Okrulicha won a pair of heat races while Edwards and Prietzel each picked up a win.

Cohen Henze Best of the Bandoleros

There’s never a shortage of excitement in the Bandoleros as Cohen Henze won the 15 lap feature on the final lap.

Ethan Jensen and Easton Riedner paced the thirteen car Taylored Construction Bandoleros to the green flag. Avery Linnerud took the early lead followed by Collin Murphy who took the lead on lap 3. On lap 4 Penn Sauter powered his way to the front of the field and built up a solid advantage over Murphy. The caution flag came out on lap 8 for a spin back in the field.

The side by side restart found Sauter and Cohen Henze out front with Sauter winning the sprint to the lead. On lap 10 Henze made contact with Sauter causing the leader to spin and bringing out the caution flag.

Murphy and Paxton Benz brought the field back to the green flag with five laps to go. Murphy took the lead on the outside with Benz working his way back on the inside before the caution flag came out two laps later for a spin. Murphy continued to lead with Henze taking second from Benz and then worked to the inside of Murphy on the final lap to take the win. Paxton Benz finished third with Sauter and Lincoln Cain rounding out the top five.

“I couldn’t really do this without my dad. All the time he puts in on the car in the shop,” said Henze from victory lane.

Fast time was set by Penn Sauter with a lap of 14.789 (60.856 mph). Easton Riedner won two heat races with Sauter and Cohen Henze each winning a heat.

Kenny Storkson Picks Up the Clean Sweep in the Legends

Kenny Storkson has been coming to Madison for many years, but tonight was definitely his most enjoyable as he picked up a clean sweep in the Legends division.

Michelle Kreyer and Ryan Laatsch brought the Legends to the green flag in their 20 lap feature. Kreyer captured the early lead with Storkson quickly up to challenge and on lap moved to the outside of Kreyer to take the lead. From there the second generation driver built up a solid margin over Kreyer. Kreyer was able to keep him in her sights, but Storkson was just too strong tonight and cruised to victory lane.

Storkson was the fastest in qualifying with a lap of 14.181 (63.465 mph). He was also the winner in both heat races.

“We’ve been working a lot on the set up. We’ll take this one,” said a very jubilant Storkson from victory lane.

Elliott Hawkins Picks Up the Win in the HSRA

Jacob Mathison led the High School Racing Association (HSRA) to the field in their 15 lap feature and jumped out to the early advantage. On lap 4 the field went three wide with Elliott Hawkins working to the inside and eventually taking the lead on lap 5 and wasting no time jumping out to a ten car length lead over Joey Miller and never looking back on his first trip to victory lane. Hawkins was representing Harlem High School from Machesney Park, Illinois.

“It’s pretty awesome racing out here,” said Hawkins.

Joey Miller and Elliott Hawkins won the heat races for the HSRA.

Racing continues on Friday, June 10th with Kids’ Night (ages 11 and under free) plus the One Community Bank $1000 Coin Scramble for the kids. On track it’s double features for the NASCAR Late Models, Dave’s White Rock MISfitz, Pellitteri Waste Systems Bandits, and Roto Rooter 6Shooters. Pit gates open at 3:30 with practice at 5:00, qualifying at 6:15 and racing at 7:30.