Catch a Rising Star at Madison this Friday

Story Image

Oregon, WI – The ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards returns to Madison International Speedway for the ninth time this Friday for the running of the Montgomery Ward 200. The series made three visits in the early 1970’s before coming back to Wisconsin’s Fastest Half-Mile in 2011. The series brings with it a rich tradition that dates back to 1953 which ironically was the same year racing began at Madison.

But what the series also comes to the table with is a preview of the future stars of racing.

For example, Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series drivers Ty Dillon (2011), Chris Buescher (2011-2012), Alex Bowman (2011), Erik Jones (2012), and Chase Elliott (2012) all made the trip to Madison as part of the ARCA Racing Series. NASCAR XFinity and Camping World Truck Series drivers including Grant Enfinger, Spencer Gallagher, Brennan Poole, Kyle Benjamin, Brandon Jones, Austin Wayne Self, Matt Tifft, Ben Rhodes, and Chase Briscoe have all raced at Madison since 2011.

So the question is who are those next rising stars in this year’s field? Drivers such as Austin Theriault, Dalton Sargeant, Riley Herbst, Shane Lee, Bret Holmes, Christian Eckes and Zane Smith might just be your answers.

Be at Madison International Speedway this Friday night to catch these rising stars. The Montgomery Ward 200 begins at 8:00 PM preceded by an on-track autograph session from 6:30 – 7:30 PM. Qualifying for the series takes place at 5:00 PM with a ninety minute practice session running from 1:30 – 3:00 PM.

For more information on the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards check out their website at