Badgerland Challenge Championship Round Tonight at Madison

Story Image

Who will be crowned the 2017 Badgerland Challenge Champions tonight at Madison International Speedway? A great field of Late Model and Sportsman drivers is expected to battle it out for top honors on Wisconsin’s Fastest Half-Mile.

After two events in the Badgerland Challenge, Dale Nottestad is the Late Model leader with 120 points followed in the top five by John Ovadal (98), Kyle Chwala (96), Zack Riddle (86), and Stephen Scheel (81). Nottestad won the 2016 championship with Casey Johnson taking home the title in 2015.

Slinger Speedway driver Paul Wagner leads the Sportsman chase with 107 points followed by Terry Wangsness at 102, Jim Taylor and Jason Thoma at 98 and Michael Gilomen with 90. Thoma is the defending champion while Wangsness won in 2015.

Separate point standings are maintained for the Badgerland Challenge events for the Late Models and Sportsman. Tonight’s event will also count for weekly Madison points. NASCAR license fees will be waived and are good for this Friday and double feature night on August 11th.

Jeremy Miller is the current point leader in the Whelen All American NASCAR Late Models with 491 followed by Bobby Wilberg (470), Zack Riddle (462), Michael Bilderback (431), and Will Rece (400). Defending champion Robert Hansberry Jr. leads the way in the Dave’s White Rock Sportsman with 578 points with Mike Taylor (518), Ray Hellenbrand (469), Bryan Hellenbrand (428), and Tim Wondrash (427) completing the top five. Dave Schmidt is the leader in the Pellitteri Waste Systems Bandits with 462 points followed by Dan Snyder (412), McKayla Adams (408), Jeremy Bredeson (366), and Bill Kohn (332).

The Benninger Concrete Hobby Stocks will be competing for the second time this season and will be in action on the “Ring of Fire.” Brandon Angilieri won the first event earlier this season and leads the points in the two race series. Dan Snyder, Kenny Storkson, Jim Tate Jr., and Chester Williams round out the top five. Points are maintained based on the Madison point system with the overall point winner receiving a $200 bonus followed by $100, $75, $75, and $50 for second through fifth.

Pit gates open at 3:30 with practice at 5:00, qualifying at 6:15 and racing at 7:30. Adult admission is $14.00 / Seniors and Whelen Heroes are $12.00 / Students 12-17 are $8.00 / Children 6-10 are $5.00 / Five and under are free. The very popular “family” ticket which includes two adults and up to four students / children is just $30.00.

Madison International Speedway is family owned and operated and thanks those who support local racing.