Exciting Tractor, Truck, and Mini Rod Pulling at MIS

Story Image

It was a great night of tractor pulling at Madison International Speedway as the infield pulling surface was in great shape for the awesome group of pullers who came to try to tame it.

Heather Thompson of Janesville, Wisconsin, won the Tri County Mini Rod 1700# Limited class with a pull of 313′-5″. Cindy Thompson of Janesville, Wisconsin, was second with a pull of 294′-9″ with Tom Lininger of Fox Lake, Wisconsin and Tony Lininger of Fox Lake, Wisconsin, rounding out the top four.

Jeff McCullock of Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, won the Econo Mod division for the Tri County Mini Rods with a pass of 298’10”. Dion Walling of Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, was second with a pull of 292’3″ with JR Vinje on Stoughton, Wisconsin, in third with a mark of 275’9″.  Rounding out the top five were Cindy Thompson of Janesville, Wisconsin, and Steve Sawdey of Monroe, Wisconsin. Completing the field were Damon Pax of Warren, Illinois, Jerry Sawdey of South Wayne, Wisconsin, Jeff Matson of Albany, Wisconsin, Ken Tatroe of Milton, Wisconsin, Roger Thompson of Edgerton, Wisconsin, and Bob Hole of South Wayne, Wisconsin.

In the 2.6 diesel truck class for Badger State Tractor Pullers it was Kevin Babler of South Wayne, Wisconsin, picking up the win with a pull of 322.5′ to top the five truck field. Babler’s pass took up every inch of the track running from pavement to pavement.  Cory Funk of Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, was second with a pull of just over 321′.

Mike Evans of Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, driving “It’s No Joke” won the 1,950 pound Open Class for the Tri County Mini-Rods with a pull of 316’1″ . Shawn Weeden of Monroe, Wisconsin, finished in second place with a hook of 296’2″.  Rounding out the field were Jerry Thompson of Janesville, Wisconsin, Stacy Butson of South Beloit, Illinois, Brian Schwoerer of Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, Bill McFarlin of Darien, Wisconsin, and Perry Butson of Edgerton, Wisconsin.

In the 9,300 pound Badger State Tractor Pullers Super Farm class it was Chuck Ginterberg of Rio, Wisconsin, getting the victory. Dan Viney of Cottage Grove, Wisonsin, was second followed by Jason Viney of Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, Brian Barman of Black Earth, Wisconsin, Brandon Coates of Dubuque, Iowa, Jerry Hassenbein of Waterford, Wisconsin, Jay Smithback of Utica, Wisconsin, and Darin Langer of DeForest, Wisconsin.

In the Limited Pro Stock class for the Badger State Tractor Pullers it was Scott Olson of Monroe, Wisconsin, picking up the win with a pull of 320.60′.  Following Olson were Randy Breu of Baraboo, Wisconsin, Gerald Gerlach of Stockton, Illinois, Al Wright of Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, and Tom Gallitz of Jefferson, Wisconsin.

Madison International Speedway would like to thank all of the teams and crews who came to pull tonight along with the fans who enjoyed a great night of pulling action.  Also special thanks goes out to all of the volunteers who helped create an outstanding pulling surface tonight.