$10,000 To Win Joe Shear Classic Set for Sunday May 5 at Madison International Speedway

Story Image

Oregon, WI- A $10,000 top prize awaits the winner of the Joe Shear Classic 200 at Madison International Speedway on Sunday afternoon May 5. Young Illinois driver Austin Nason came out on top of last year’s memorable event to record his first ever tour victory. The Stars and Cars of the ARCA Midwest Tour will battle for 200 laps on ‘Wisconsin’s Fastest Half Mile’ chasing the winning payday amongst the 28 car feature field, which pays $1,000 to start.

Exciting two and three wide racing on the high banks of MIS played out in front of a strong short track racing contingent last May. Just when it looked like either Georgia’s Bubba Pollard or Wisconsin’s Casey Johnson had the race secured, mechanical gremlins sidelined both rides. A variety of twists and turns throughout the contest had Midwest race fans guessing who would find victory lane. Nason, who had been quietly in the top five for most of the day got up on the wheel when it mattered, keeping multi-time Tour and Oktoberfest Champion Dan Fredrickson behind him as the duo raced to the checkers. Minnesota native and former Dixieland 250 winner Nick Murgic finished third, followed by Chicagoland Champion Paul Shafer, Jr and 2018 Midwest Tour Champion Dalton Zehr.

Joining the ARCAMT Super Late Models will be the Mid-American Stock Car Series and the Midwest Trucks Series. Spectator gates will open Sunday May 5 at 11:30am, racing begins at 2pm and will also feature a post qualifying fan autograph session in the Turn 4 Party Pavilion. Adult general admission tickets are $25, Whelen Heroes, Seniors and Students (ages 12-17) $22, Kids (6-11) $10 with Children (5 & under) Free. Family Pricing is also available for $60 which includes up to two adult tickets and up to four admissions for those ages 17 and under. For additional information visit www.misracing.com or call 608-835-9700.

Past Winners of Joe Shear Classic at Madison International

2008 Dan Fredrickson

2009 Nathan Haseleu

2010 Steve Carlson

2011 Ross Kenseth

2012 Andrew Morrissey

2013 Travis Sauter

2014 Nathan Haseleu

2015 Johnny Sauter

2016 Ty Majeski

2017 Andrew Morrissey

2018 Austin Nason